Back on track with a Seoul purpose. 

Sun rising on our farm in Northland, New Zealand. 05.05.2017

After a 9-month hiatus, I can finally say that I am back on track – back to writing and writing and writing. And writing.

As you probably noticed, my last blog post was in August of last year. A lot of things have happened and changed since then – many lessons learned, gained valuable experience in my field, met some life-long friends, made a couple of mistakes, lost an old friend in an unfortunate accident, traveled to places and most importantly, graduated with a degree in Public Relations.

However, my ability to complete my degree was almost thwarted by an apparent oversight committed by a university staff. With only four weeks left of my studies, I was presented with the prospect of not being able to graduate because of this.  I will not present to you the details or the facts but it was one of those trials-and-tribulations kind of thing that tested my faith, and let’s just say that I didn’t come through this plight unscathed. Just like any person dealing with a predicament, I occasionally found myself in dark places, which of course, hindered my ability to blog here on WordPress. But if there’s anything I learned in this experience is that miracles happen everyday and that you just have to leave everything in God’s hands. In the end, I was able to see the light at the end of the tunnel and finished the year with a diploma in my hand.

So now that I am back on my own feet, I will be blogging here once again with the sole purpose of bettering myself- through creative writing prompts, photography, daily musings, travel reflections, poetry, opinion pieces and of course, this blog wouldn’t go ahead without expressing my love for sports – particularly football/soccer. And since I have yet to find a full-time, career-related job, what better way to hone my writing skills than to publish blogs here on WordPress, where a community of inspiration exists.

To start my Seoul purpose of getting back to WordPress, here’s a snap of a small corner I took through a restaurant window, in the vibrant city of Incheon in Seoul, South Korea (see what I did there?). Our layover trip to Incheon gave us two days in the metropolis – as well as some hot, delectable Korean ramen and kimchi to keep the cold temperatures at bay (it was -17 degrees when we got to our hotel).

Bright colours light up downtown Incheon, South Korea. 16.01.2017

Of all the Asian cities I’ve visited before, Seoul has got to be my number one favourite. From the luxurious Hyatt Park to the mega-city Seoul Special City to its greater reach Seoul Capital Area, it is true innovation on a grand scale, dismissing any signs of jetlag with an electrifying zap of awe.

I really enjoyed my stay in South Korea despite the fact that it was short. From the warmest of welcomes to the fondest of farewells, I thank you for making it one of my cherished travel memories. I will be back definitely, South Korea.

(c) jodiepages 2017. All Rights Reserved

Laisser un commentaire

